whatsapp-image-2017-02-14-at-20-33-59

Age: 9

Year of diagnosed: 2016, Aspergers Syndrome

Tell us something you would like people to know about you…

I am sensitive, I am good at maths and I don’t like to be bored. I moved from London to Swansea.

When did you start drawing and why?

I don’t know when I started drawing. But I heard that I started to draw at five, during the period my mother was diagnosed with cancer. They said I drew a lot of big characters holding up weapons, it was like I wanted to protect my mother.

How do you get inspiration to draw?

I don’t really know, basically I think I get inspiration from everything around me.

What other things you enjoy doing other than drawing?

I enjoy reading (if books were food, I think I would be very fat), DIY stuffs and being creative. I also do surfing (with Ben at Surfibility) and boy ballet (with James at Counterpoint Theatre Arts).

How did you hear about this Festival? And what do you think about it?

From my mother. And I was also involved in designing the very first poster for the Festival of Autism. I think this Festival is going to be interesting.

Which is your favourite drawing that will be displayed in the exhibition and why?

The long piece: my 100+ Pokemon characters. I like them because I think they are well drawn and it’s a great achievement for me. I have lots of drawings at home, but I only picked those original from my imagination to exhibit except this one and a few others.

What do you want people to get out from your art work?

Be inspired.

If there’s one thing you want people to know about Autism, what would it be?

Do not judge others by their behaviours.

Interview conducted by Nyarow

